Pakistan commits to one-month truce with Taliban – ‘Complete ceasefire!’

Kabul: Afghans enter Pakistan through Chaman border

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

The ceasefire, which was decided following talks that began after the victory of the Afghan Taliban in August, opens the possibility of a larger peace accord to end years of bloodshed.  The Pakistani Taliban, or Tehreek-e-Taliban Pakistan (TTP) is a separate movement from the Afghan Taliban that has fought for years to overthrow the government in Islamabad.

The group wants to rule Afghanistan with their own brand of Islamic sharia law, but attempts to reach peace agreements have failed in the past.

Pakistan’s information minister, Fawad Chaudhry spoke in a statement, stating the ceasefire would be extended as the talks progressed.

He said: “The government of Pakistan and banned Tehreek-e-Taliban Pakistan have agreed on a complete ceasefire.”

The TTP have killed thousands of military personnel and civilians over the years in attacks.

One of these attacks included a 2014 assault on a military-run school in Peshawar, near the border with Afghanistan.

This attack killed 149 people and 132 children.

According to Reuters the TTP are on a US state department list of foreign terrorist organisations.

The Taliban took control of Kabul on August 15 – only ten days after the first provincial capital Zaranj was captured by the group.

Gary Lineker taking in SECOND refugee [REVEAL]
Taliban leadership of Afghanistan faces ‘disaster’ [INSIGHT]
Please keep your borders open Afghans need you – UNHCR CHIEF [ANALYSIS]

The August 31 deadline for the troop withdrawal saw the US abandon the country after 20 years of military intervention in the region.

The Taliban previously controlled Afghanistan from 1996 to 2001.

The Taliban have committed to govern differently from their previous time in power from 1996 and 2001.

Source: Read Full Article