Met Office storm names 2020/21: Is your name on the list? Storm names in full

Every year the Met Office decides the storm names for the UK, Ireland and the Netherlands for the upcoming season. The Met Office decides the names in partnership with Ireland’s meteorological agency, Met Éireann, and the Dutch meteorological agency KNMI. Here are the storm names for the 2020/21 season.

This year a number of named storms have hit the UK and Ireland, with the most recent storm being Storm Francis.

For the 2019/20 season, the UK has also seen the arrival of Storm Atiyah, Storm Brendan, Storm Ciara, Storm Dennis, Storm Jorge and Storm Ellen.

From September 1, 2020, the first storm to arrive in the UK or Ireland will start on a new list of storm names. 

Like previous years, the names have been based on suggestions given to the meteorological agencies by the public.

The Name our Storms campaign intends to increase awareness of severe weather when it occurs.

Will Lang, Head of the National Severe Weather Warning Service at the Met Office, said: “We are now entering our sixth year of the Name our Storms campaign and we look forward to working closely with our colleagues in Ireland and the Netherlands once again, continuing to raise awareness of the potential impacts of severe weather in order to keep people across our nations safe. 

“The impacts from Storm Ciara and Dennis earlier this year are still fresh in many people’s minds and although it’s too early to anticipate what weather this autumn and winter will bring, we are prepared with a new list of names to help raise awareness of severe weather before it hits.”

The storm names for 2020/21 are as follows:

  • Aiden
  • Bella
  • Christoph
  • Darcy
  • Evert
  • Fleur
  • Gavin
  • Heulwen
  • Iain
  • Julia
  • Klaas
  • Lilah
  • Minne
  • Naia
  • Oscar
  • Phoebe
  • Ravi
  • Saidhbhin
  • Tobias
  • Vince
  • Wilson

Source: Read Full Article