Janil Puthucheary, Sim Ann re-appointed as PAP Whip and Deputy Whip; 12 GPCs formed

SINGAPORE – The People’s Action Party on Wednesday (Aug 19) announced that it has reappointed Dr Janil Puthucheary as Party Whip and Ms Sim Ann as Deputy Party Whip.

Dr Janil has served as Party Whip since June 6 last year, having taken over the role from Trade and Industry Minister Chan Chun Sing, who was the previous Whip since September 2015.

He is currently Senior Minister of State for Health and Communications and Information, and an MP for Pasir Ris-Punggol GRC.

Ms Sim is currently Senior Minister of State for Communications and Information and National Development, and an MP for Holland-Bukit Timah GRC.

The role of a Party Whip is to ensure good communication in the party ranks, contribute to the smooth running of its parliamentary machinery and serve as disciplinarian.

The Whip also ensures the party’s MPs vote according to the party’s position. But at times, the Whip can “lift the Whip”, allowing party members to vote according to their conscience.

Separately, the Government Parliamentary Committees (GPCs) have also been formed, the PAP said in a press release.

Almost all 12 of the committees have new chairmen, with the exception of three: defence and foreign affairs, finance and trade and industry, and social and family development.

These three GPCs will continue to be chaired by Mr Vikram Nair, a Sembawang GRC MP; Mr Liang Eng Hwa, Bukit Panjang MP; and Mr Seah Kian Peng, a Marine Parade GRC MP, respectively.

The changes include:

MacPherson MP Tin Pei Ling, who was deputy chairman for the communications and information GPC, will now chair the committee in place of Mr Cedric Foo, who has retired from politics.

Potong Pasir MP Sitoh Yih Pin will head the GPC for culture, community and youth, in place of Dr Lim Wee Kiak.

Pioneer MP and labour leader Patrick Tay will head the education GPC, with Tampines GRC MP Desmond Choo replacing him as chair of the GPC for manpower.

Jurong GRC MP Tan Wu Meng will chair the health GPC, while Bishan-Toa Payoh GRC MP Saktiandi Supaat takes over as the transport GPC chairman.

Nee Soon GRC MP Louis Ng, formerly a member of the GPC for the environment and water resources, now heads up the sustainability and the environment GPC, in line with the renaming of the ministry last month.

The GPC appointments will be effective with the commencement of the 14th Parliament of Singapore, which opens with an address by President Halimah Yacob next Monday.

Set up by the PAP in 1987, GPCs serve as an additional feedback channel on government policies, and give their members the opportunity to scrutinise the legislation and programmes of the various ministries.

Here’s the full list of GPC members.

Communications and Information

Culture, Community and Youth

Defence and Foreign Affairs


Finance and Trade & Industry


Home Affairs and Law


National Development

Social and Family Development

Sustainability and the Environment


Source: Read Full Article